Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Six Degrees of Scandal by Caroline Linden

Six Degrees of Scandal by Caroline Linden
I have been wondering what the heck was up with Olivia Townsend and we finally get to find out. I definitely preferred this book to the last one in this series though.Olivia Townsend has loved James Weston for most of her life. They grew up together and then fell in love. But after a romantic interlude... James decides that he knows what's best and wanders off rather than immediately asking for her hand. Because Olivia's family is in dire straights, they can't wait to get her married. Especially now that she's "damaged goods." So Olivia marries another. It's been two years since her husband died of the flu and she's not sure what's going on. Not only has all of the money from his inheritance mysteriously disappeared, one of her husband's friends is getting more and more insistent about pressing his intentions. And now she's got this mysterious book that just showed up. It seems to be one of her husband's diaries (according to the back cover, but really it sounds more like a ledger). When she takes it to a lawyer, he not only denies knowing exactly what it is, he claims that it was supposed to be burned. Going to her cold and lonely cottage (where she's hiding to get away from her would-be suitor), Olivia is beset upon by a shadowed man. One with a very familiar voice. It's James. He's been recruited by his sister Penelope to come to Olivia's rescue.As readers, we travel with James and Olivia to find out what her husband was really up to all while watching the two of them fall back in love. Or acknowledging that they still love each other. Parts of the story were a little too smooth and other parts dragged on a bit but overall a fairly good story.

This book comes out March 29, 2016

No comments:

Post a Comment